Dirt - Thursday, Feb 01 2018

Happy February! Here’s your friendly reminder that Valentine’s day is in two weeks!

Stone Temple Pilots have released the second single from their next album. The new song, “Roll Me Under,” features the vocals of Jeff Gutt, a former contestant from The X Factor. Guitarist Dean DeLeo commented: “We are thrilled about what lies ahead. The best way for us to honor our past is to keep making new music.”

Bassist Robert DeLeo wrote the single and says it was one of the first Jeff sang on. DeLeo added, “Those riffs have been kicking around in my head for years, and it felt like the right time to record and perform it.” Give “Roll Me Under” a listen at RollingStone.com.

The new self-titled album that includes 12 new songs is due out March 18 and a vinyl version will be released the following week.

Stone Temple Pilots track listing:

01. Middle of Nowhere
02. Guilty
03. Meadow
04. Just a Little Lie
05. Six Eight
06. Thought She’d Be Mine
07. Roll Me Under
08. Never Enough
09. The Art of Letting Go
10. Finest Hour
11. Good Shoes
12. Reds & Blues

When Dolores O’Riordan, frontwoman of The Cranberries, died January 15, she was actually in London, with plans to record with Bad Wolves - for a remake of the 1994 classic, “Zombie.” And though she never made it to the studio that day, four days later, Bad Wolves released their remake in her honor. And decided that proceeds from the song would be set aside for O’Riordan’s children.

This week, the song became Bad Wolves first Billboard chart entry and debuted at #25 on Hot Rock Songs. The Cranberries’ remake also marked Bad Wolves’ first time on the Emerging Artists chart, coming in at #38.

Their debut album is slated for release later this year. Listen to the Bad Wolves cover of “Zombie” below:

With one tweet, Disturbed let fans know they’re recording again. A photo of a studio console along with the caption: “Getting started” is all it took.

This will be their first new music since 2015′s Immortalized album. Prior to that, the band had been on hiatus since the fall of 2011. It became their fifth album to enter The Billboard 200 chart at # 1, a feat shared only with Metallica and Dave Matthews Band.

Although they didn’t mention any details…last year, singer David Draiman revealed that the next release would be an acoustic EP.

Lzzy Hale of Halestorm at Sonic Boom (photo credit: Lou Brutus)

Between tours, Halestorm has been back in the studio and should have new music out this year. In an interview with Trunk Nation, guitarist Joe Hottinger stated, “We only have, like, two weeks left on it — just some vocals and candy stuff.  It’s the heaviest stuff we’ve ever done.”

Singer Lzzy Hale added, “We just don’t like staying in the same lane because, as you know, album cycles for rock right now, it’s like three years is one album cycle. And you’re a whole different person than you were in the beginning of it. So it’s really hard for us to go back, so we just keep moving forward.”

The band has been recording in Nashville and hope for a mid- year release.

Sevendust is wrapping up recording on their new album as well! The quote from Sevendust’s Instagram page reads: “Mastering has begun! Can’t wait for you guys to hear it.”

The follow-up to 2015′s Kill The Flaw was recorded at Studio Barbarosa in Gotha, Florida with producer Michael “Elvis” Baskette, known for his work with Alter BridgeSlash, and others.

In a recent interview with Good Company, lead singer, Lajon Witherspoon stated: “We’ve done so much more in 33 days recording this than I’ve ever done in my life. I sang 14 songs in nine days to make up for some time that was lost. But it was because I felt good too, so some days I did two songs a day.”

In 2016, Sevendust received their first-ever Grammy nomination for “Thank You.” The song got the nod for Best Metal Performance.

Finally, we’d like to wish a Happy Birthday to Stone Sour bassist Johny Chow and Weezer drummer Patrick Wilson! A fabulous day to all!

This entry was posted in Dirt