Dirt - Monday, Jun 11, 2018

Good morning. Still pretty bummed out about the passing of Anthony Bourdain. Here’s what some of our fellow rockers have to say about it:

Zach Myers of Shinedown:

Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age:

Phil Labonte of All That Remains:

Serj Tankian of System of a Down:

Deftones frontman Chino Moreno has released a new solo song titled “Brief Exchange.” The track is the second inspired by DC Comics’ graphic novel Dark Nights: Metal. It follows last month’s “Red Death,” the first-ever solo track from Mastodon drummer/vocalist Brann Dailor.

Both tunes are slated to appear on a soundtrack featuring songs inspired by Dark Nights: Metal, a blockbuster comic book event that involved Batman discovering a dark multiverse existing beneath the core DC multiverse. The set is a collaboration between DC Entertainment and Warner Bros. Records.

The creation of the soundtrack is being guided by producer Mike Elizondo and film composer Tyler Bates, who is also the guitarist for Marilyn MansonA deluxe edition of the Dark Nights: Metal graphic novel is set to arrive in comic book shops on Tuesday (June 12th).

Moreno recently confirmed that Deftones are working on music for their ninth studio album, which will follow up 2016′s Gore LP. Deftones are about to embark on a string of European dates beginning on June 20th in London.

Smashing Pumpkins have released a new song called “Solara,” which marks the band’s first recording to feature frontman William Corgan, guitarist James Iha and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin playing together in 18 years. The track, which was produced by Rick Rubin, also features longtime guitarist Jeff Schroeder. Corgan, Iha and Chamberlin last played together on the album Machina II/The Friends And Enemies Of Modern Music in 2000, while the last release to feature Chamberlin was 2007′s Zeitgeist.

The Pumpkins will perform “Solara” on tonight’s edition of The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. The song is said to be one of at least eight that the semi-reunited Pumpkins have been recording and intend to release, although when the others arrive remains to be determined.

Original Pumpkins bassist D’Arcy Wretzky is is not taking part in the band’s reunion after recently claiming that Corgan offered to have her come out and do only sporadic appearances on the upcoming reunion tour. Corgan told the New York Times that he was “horrified” that Wretzky had made their private correspondence public, saying that the bridge between him and Wretzky was now burned “forever.”

The “Shiny And Oh So Bright” tour, which will reportedly focus on the band’s first five albums, kicks off on July 12th in Glendale, Arizona.

Beartooth has officially added two new members to its lineup, with ex-Like Moths To Flames guitarist Zach Huston joining the group and touring drummer Connor Denis earning a promotion to full-time member. Huston serves as the replacement for former member Taylor Lumley, who left the band earlier this year. Frontman Caleb Shomo confirmed the news in a tweet, saying, “Full official members. This is the lineup. Ride the lightning.”

The band also shared a picture on Instagram of itself in the studio working on its third full-length album. The new LP will serve as the follow-up to 2016′s Aggressive, which featured the breakthrough singles “Hated” and “Sick Of Me.” Beartooth will play a handful of dates next month on the final edition of the Warped Tour, with the band joining the long-running tour’s lineup on July 19th in Cincinnati, July 20th in Detroit and July 21st in Chicago.

This entry was posted in Dirt